Skip Navigation Website Accessibility

Registration for DEQ's (Department of Environmental Quality) Wood Stove and Fireplace Conversion Assistance Program will open January 11th. Below are some talking points about this valuable opportunity for residents. See the contact info below with any questions.

Contact Information
(801) 536-4423

Talking Points

  • The Wood Stove and Fireplace Conversion Assistance Program was developed by the Department of Environmental Quality’s Division of Air Quality to incentivize residents to convert their fireplace or wood stove into a natural gas or propane fueled appliance.
  •  For homeowners with wood stoves or fireplaces, the program is an opportunity to help reduce wintertime pollution caused by wood burning.
  •  The program is targeted to counties that currently experience poor wintertime air quality. 
  •  Smoke from wood burning stoves and fireplaces is a significant source of emissions during winter inversions—up to 150 tons of emissions over the life cycle of a stove.
  • Wood smoke contributes to wintertime inversions by releasing volatile organic compounds (VOCs), oxides of nitrogen (NOx), and other fine particulates (PM2.5) as the wood burns. In addition to the direct PM2.5 emitted from burning, VOCs and NOx react in the atmosphere with sulfur dioxide and ammonia to form even more PM2.5 through a process called secondary formation.


  • Registration will open on Jan. 11 at 6:00 for Utah County
  • Reservations are made on a first come, first served basis, and can fill very quickly


  •       Financial incentives are currently available to homeowners in Cache and Utah counties.
  •       Low-income homeowners can receive up to $3,800 and non, low-income homeowners can receive up to $2,800 to convert a wood burning appliance to natural gas or propane. 
  •       Fireplaces/wood stoves must be used for a significant amount of home heating. Homeowners who occasionally burn wood in fireplaces/wood stoves are not eligible for this program. Gas logs are not eligible.
  •       For residential home heating only. Does not apply to attached buildings or garages.
  •       Retroactive projects are not eligible. Homeowners must have a valid award in hand before beginning this program.
  •       Applicants must be the legal owner of the home. Commercial and rental properties are not eligible.
  •       Homeowners can use the financial incentive to:

o   Exchange an operational wood stove (including pellet) for a gas stove (natural gas or propane);

o   Convert an operational fireplace to a gas fireplace (natural gas or propane); or

o   Exchange an operational uncertified wood stove for an EPA certified wood stove.

Full eligibility details, income qualifications, registration details and other information can be found at